Rolando Dy faces Australian newcomer Aydin Mrouki at PXC 55 in Guam

rolando dy

One of Philippines’ top 145 pounders , Rolando Gabriel “Dy Incredible” Dy, meets Aussie fighter Aydin Mrouki in a non-title scrap in Guam as part of the main card fights of PXC 55, which will be headlined by a Flyweight Championship showdown between Riley Dutro and Darren Uyenoyama for the vacant 125 pound title.

“Dy Incredible” told MMAOrient Thursday afternoon that he is no longer fighting for the featherweight title, but is set to face Mrouki in a non-title bout in Guam.

Dy was originally set to challenge Alex Volkanovski for his PXC Featherweight title at PXC 55 until a call from the UFC came for the heavy-handed Australian and offered him to face fellow former PXC champ Jon Tuck in Manila for UFC Fight Night 97.

Volkanovski immediately vacated his title and grabbed that once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to showcase his talent inside the Octagon, leaving the Filipino pugilist doubting if he is still going to fight for the PXC featherweight title or if he is still going to fight at all in Guam,

“When they first told me that I am going to fight Alex for the title, I was very happy. I was challenged when I knew I’m going to fight Alex. I knew it will be tough to get the belt because I’m going against him. Then they told me that Alex was signed by the UFC and I will no longer fight for the title. I was disappointed.” Dy said.

It was a tough news to take for Dy, but instead of thinking too much about his cancelled title fight, he moved on and focused himself to the task at hand which is to get the “W” against  the up and comer by a spectacular fashion.

Although Mrouki has only fought once inside the “Terror Dome”, Dy does not underestimate him. He will respect him and will prepare for the fight as though it is for the title, “Aydin is confident, smart, long and patient fighter. He got some good boxing and BJJ as well.” Dy stated.

Mrouki fought Jaypee Espinosa at PXC 53 earlier this year and got the win by way of unanimous decision, the same night where Dy knocked out Matsushima in the very first round, “He is good but he hasn’t fought any caliber fighter so I really can’t tell if he has something to bring to the table against me. But I don’t underestimate him.” Dy said. “I will show him high-level MMA; high level striking.” He added.

Dy’s striking is accuracy and power is undeniable. He is light on his feet, moves his head well and very composed fighter. He showed  why he is one of the best strikers in the PXC when he knocked out the then undefeated Matsushima last April 2016.

The 25-year-old Dy was tagged by a heavy left hook after throwing a kick to Matsushima’s body. He stayed calm and composed despite getting hurt and connected his own left hook that sent the Japanese fighter falling down face first on the canvas. It was the knockout every fans was waiting for that night and Dy gave it to them in just 23 seconds of the very first round,

“Matsushima connected but I recovered right away. Then he came in with his hands down, so I threw my own left hook. I am more of a counter puncher than attacker.” Said Dy who registered his first-ever KO victory of his MMA career. “So if you are an aggressive fighter like Matsushima, be careful.” he added.

When asked if he has something to say to Mrouki, “You cannot strike with me.” Dy confidently answered.

Leave a comment