Eduard Folayang: “I have learned my lessons and it motivates me to go this far to learn and get better.”

Photo by: Willy Foo

Photo by: Willy Foo

After a devastating loss against Lowen Tynanes at URCC 22 ‘Dekada’, Filipino MMA superstar Eduard “Landslide” Folayang (12-3) looks for redemption as he faces a very tough opponent in Kamal Shalorous (7-3-2), an UFC and WEC vet who is known for his knockout power and wrestling skills in his home turf at One FC 9 ‘Rise to Power’ on May 31st at the SM Mall Of Asia Arena.

Folayang is currently in the U.S, training and honing his ground game at Drysdale Jiu Jitsu in Las Vegas with Dan “The Outlaw” Hardy and Martin .He also made a quick visit at Reign Training Center, an MMA gym owned by Filipino-American UFC fighter, Mark “The Filipino Wrecking Machine” Munoz.

“I have an opportunity to go and visit Reign Training Center at Orange County, California, but it was a limited time so I grasped the chance to visit Mark and train with him. I learned some techniques with him and I’m very glad I have that chance to be with him. Mark Munoz is a very accommodating and hospitable man you can ever meet in MMA world. I thank him even for that short time to talk and share the same faith we have. May God continue to widen his territory.”

“My trip here in the U.S is a good eye opener for me to see the MMA world in a wider perspective. It’s also a good opportunity to train with high level of fighters and train with the best coaches in the business. My training here in Drysdale is awesome, I joined their PRO MMA Class and it was great. A lot of great fighters to be with and lessons to be grasped. There is a lot of difference with the regime I used to have, that’s why it needs adjustment on my part. There is some similarity though on some part.”

Folayang is famous for his striking skills, never ending cardio and deadly ground and pound game, but one thing that is evident in his past fights is that he had some tough times avoiding his opponent’s take downs. Although he hasn’t been submitted in the past, the always humble Folayang admits that he really needs to improve his ground skills and that he is quite far from being a complete fighter; but he is working hard to bring his game into a whole new level. In fact, his training partner at Drysdale, Dan Hardy, who rolled with the Filipino fighter a couple of times, tweeted us that Folayang’s ground game is “very good”.

“Training with Dan is an opportunity. I don’t know that he is Dan Hardy though I have an idea that he is a UFC fighter that time we are on training. I’m happy to have the chance to roll and wrestle with him. You know, I learned here that training with high level fighters is not only about getting their backs or submitting them, because we cannot avoid that and even those who doesn’t know much about fighting who are good on the ground can submit you and dominate you. It’s more about learning a technique and applying it effectively.”

When asked on when he is coming home, “I’ll be coming home soon.”

On May 31st, 2013, Folayang will return inside the cage in front of his home crowd as he takes on a much decorated MMA fighter in Shalorous at One FC 9 ‘ Riste to Power’ happening at the SM Mall of Asia Arena.

“It was announced already that my next opponent is Kamal Shalorous, a very decorative wrestler and brawler who already fought big names in the UFC and WEC. This fight is very important for me, I have learned my lessons on the past and it motivates me to go this far to learn, train and get better.”

When asked on what can his Filipino fans expect from him on May 31st, “Fans can expect nothing only something that God is preparing for the next step.”

For sure Eduard Folayang’s U.S trip is all worth it as he acquired new things and added them in his arsenal. We will surely see a better and more dangerous Folayang against Shalorous in Manila in May 31st. He is thankful for those people who supported his trip and to his fans that are always behind him supporting whatever decision he makes in his career.

“I thank my Lord Jesus for the provisions He provided for my expenses to be defrayed and to those people who contributed and willingly accommodated me for my training here: Kuya Dave Taclobao his wife Ruby Jean and his family, Alexander Bangsoy and his Goshenland Company, Dr. Harold Hiyadan, My brothers Joseph and Heraldo Carosen, George Forayang, Joel Aliping, Melvin Magata and his family, Nader Zamani. I also want to thank my teammates in Team Lakay and bro Mark Sangiao for their continuous support. My family, fans and fellow Kingdom of God citizens and Genevieve Aloy.”

One FC 9 ‘Rise to Power’ will be headlined by a world featherweight championship as Folayang’s teammate, Honoro “The Rock” Banario will defend his title for the first time against a veteran Japanese fighter, Koji Oishi.

Bantamweight phenom Bibiano “The Flash” Fernandes will make his second One FC appearance against highly talented Koetsu Okazaki for the interim bantamweight title.

Also, Masakatsu Ueda and Kevin Belingon will battle it out to win the One FC Bantamweight Grand Prix title. This will be a crucial fight for both fighters as they try to step closer to the title picture.

You can check out the rest of the fight card for One FC ‘Rise to Power’ at http://www.onefc.com 

Leave a Reply

