Shinya Aoki Dethrones Kotetsu Boku, Belingon and Ueda Will Face Each Other For The BW GP Finals

shinya5 April 2013 – Singapore: ONE Fighting Championship™ (ONE FC), Asia’s largest Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) organization, wowed the sold-out crowd in attendance at Singapore Indoor Stadium with ONE FC: KINGS & CHAMPIONS. Fans were treated to a night of unforgettable action as ONE FC’s best battled inside the famed ONE FC cage.

shinya 2

The ONE FC lightweight division crowned a new champion when Shinya Aoki submitted Kotetsu Boku in the second round of their championship bout. Aoki displayed superior grappling that knockout specialist Boku simply had no answer to. The finish came in round two when Shinya Aoki sunk in a rear naked choke that resulted in Boku tapping out and conceding his lightweight championship title.

In the co-main event of the evening, Brock Larson had to survive adversity to emerge victorious by unanimous decision. Melvin Manhoef nearly finished the fight in the first round with his signature kicks that clearly rocked Larson. Larson came back strong in the second round and ended the round with a tight armbar. Larson came on strong in the third round and neutralized Manhoef’s striking with superior grappling and relentless ground and pound. The judges unanimously awarded Larson the decision victory.

The packed Singapore Indoor Stadium also witnessed history as Kevin Belingon and Masakatsu Ueda earned wins in the prestigious ONE FC Bantamweight Grand Prix semi-finals and will face each other in the final. The winner of that bout will be guaranteed a future title shot.  Belingon dispatched of his opponent Thanh Vu with a relentless barrage of punches and kicks that led the referee to step in and stop the fight in round two.  Ueda also won in round two after he sank in a choke and the referee had no choice but to step in and stop the fight.

Official results for ONE FC: KINGS & CHAMPIONS:

Shinya Aoki defeats Kotetsu Boku by submission via rear naked choke at 4:04 minutes of round 2
Brock Larson defeats Melvin Manhoef by unanimous decision at 5:00 minutes of round 3
Masakatsu Ueda defeats Jens Pulver by d’arce submission at 3:52 minutes of round 2
Kevin Belingon defeats Thanh Vu by referee stoppage due to strikes at 1:00 minutes of round 2
Eddie Ng defeats Arnaud Lepont by armbar submission at 4:45 minutes of round 2
Leandro Issa defeats Yusup Saadulaev  by decision at 5:00 minutes of round 3
Alex Silva defeats Rene Catalan by armbar submission at 4:34  minutes of round 1
Bashir Ahmad defeats Shannon Wiratchai by decision at 5:00 minutes of round 3
Jake Butler defeats Swain Cangco by  submission at 2:52 minutes of round 1
Chen Yun Ting defeats Ronald Low by referee stoppage due to strikes at 3:58 minutes of round 1

In case you missed the action, log on to ONEFC.LIVESPORT.TV for the full replay of the fights at only US $9.99.

For more updates on ONE Fighting Championship™, please visit and follow on Twitter @ONEFCMMA and Facebook at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s