Harris Sarmiento: “I know the people would love to see a rematch with Mark Striegl.”

Harris Sarmiento during the post-fight interview - Photo by Sev BJr of ritratozilvidu.com

Harris Sarmiento during the post-fight interview at PXC 35 – Photo by Sev BJr of ritratozilvidu.com

808 Fight Factory’s own, the current PXC lightweight champion, Harris “The Hitman” Sarmiento cemented the seventh submission win of his MMA career against rising Filipino star Isaiah “Ice” Ordiz in PXC 35 last weekend at Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig City.

Everyone knows how solid Sarmiento’s striking game is. But last week, at PXC 35, we saw a very different Harris Sarmiento, we saw a more intelligent and dangerous fighter when he submitted the very talented Ordiz in the first round by way of kimura lock.

“I know everyone was expecting me to trade punches with him and a stand-up war. I don’t have anything to prove to anyone. Everyone knows that I can up and bang. I just wanted to keep it safe and I knew that once I get on top, I’m gonna finish the fight.” 

Sarmiento really trained hard for that fight. As always, he gave his best in the gym to become a better fighter and defend his title against the scrappy Ordiz. It is one of the most unforgettable fight camps of Sarmiento’s career as he made some changes during the preparations for his title defense at PXC 35.

Sarmiento scored a take down over Ordiz - Photo by Sev BJr. of ritratozilvidu.com

Sarmiento scored a take down over Ordiz – Photo by Sev BJr. of ritratozilvidu.com

“For that fight, I concentrated a lot on boxing and jiu-jitsu, worked a lot and sparring with taller guys and left handed. I also changed my training regime prior to that fight. I have a pro boxing coach now and he his really well-known in the boxing world. Been working a lot on ground game at Alliance Jiu-Jitsu, doing gi with a lot of good guys, also strength conditioning for long lasting performance. And of course, working with my team 808 Top Team and 808 Fight Factory.”

After the fight getting his hand raised last weekend, during the post fight interview, Sarmiento calls out Striegl for a rematch, who was also in attendance that night. The fans and PXC officials seemed very excited about the rematch. Striegl immediately responded on Sarmiento’s call as he said in one of his interviews that he is cool of having a rematch with the current PXC lightweight champion, but it is all up to the PXC officials and if the rematch happens, it must still be at the featherweight limit. But if you’re going to ask Sarmiento, it doesn’t matter whether the rematch takes place at featherweight or lightweight. He just wants it to happen because he knows he can beat Striegl and the fans really wants to see it,

“After that lost to mark, I was really mad at myself because I know that I’m better than him in any aspect of the game. I just got too confident and careless because I wanted to beat him on his own game. I know the people would love to see a rematch with Mark.”

harris 4

Photo by Sev BJr. of ritratozilvidu.com for MMA Orient

When asked on what does being a champion means to him, “Being a champion to me means being a role model to the people, the fans and everyone that has a dream. You can do anything in the world as long as you put your mind and dedicate yourself into it. You can do anything.”, Sarmiento answered.

After his title defense against Ordiz last weekend, Sarmiento is no doubt, one of the best lightweights in the region. And the fact that he is now focusing more into his ground game makes him a very scary dude inside the cage. He always strive for the best because he knows that working your butt off everyday in the gym will bring you into the top.

“There’s no secret on being successful in this business. Fighting to me is a way of life, handwork pays off, it’s how bad you want it.”

“Just wanna give a shout out to all the people that helped me out for my fight. My sponsors and management, also Alliance Jiu-Jitsu, Kakaako Boxing Club, Coach Bobby Villaler, Powerhouse MMA, Warhorse Strength Conditioning, 808 Fight Factory and specially my team 808 Top Team. Mahalo and Mabuhay!”

For the latest updates about Harris Sarmiento, visit, http://www.pxc.com.ph

Leave a Reply

