2012 ADCC Philippines Advanced Absolute Silver Medalist, Glen Ranillo Is Confident He Can Beat Mark Billena at PXC 35

glenn ranillo

The front line is the center of a conflict or struggle between two parties. In the art of combat it all comes down to whose techniques and determination is strong enough to withstand the brunt.

Whether the goal be championship gold or Olympic prestige, a Fighter’s Heart takes him through an ordeal because in his mind there is something desirable at the end of the tunnel.

A fighter’s heart can sometimes be built from prior events, which evidently aids in their current and future career pursuits. Case in point, Filipino MMA fighter, Glen Ranillo has been constructed through suffering, maturity, and hard work.

Ranillo will be stepping into the cage as the first fight at PXC 35, this Saturday, February 16, 2013, at the Ynares Sports Arena, Pasig, Philippines. This will be his fourth professional fight at 155-lbs, as he faces Mark Billena.

ranillo vs billena

The 29-year-old Ranillo is a former bouncer in Macau and now a pro MMA fighter currently signed under Pacific Xtreme Combat (PXC). Aside form fighting professionally, he is teaching MMA at Insider Boxing Gym in Makati City, Philippines.

He is a 2012 ADCC Philippines Advanced Absolute silver medalist when he fell short at the hands of TUF veteran, Andy Wang.

” I am really into sports and fitness. In fact, before transitioning to MMA, I’m a Pro baseball player for 5 years, but boxing is really my passion. I had no chance to do more of boxing because I’m still in college at the time. I was involved in a lot of school fights before, most especially when there are bullies who wanted me to punch in the face. Then one day, I watched Pride FC and got hooked into it and started to train and strive to be a good MMA fighter.”

Ranillo is coming off a very disappointing 1st round TKO loss at the hands of top Chinese MMA fighter, Wang “The Boss” Sai at PXC 34 in November of 2012. The Chinese fighter bullied Ranillo by hammering punches from the top which caused the referee to step in and save Ranillo from further damage.

“That fight with Wang Sai, I accepted it two days before fight night. I didn’t trained at all for that fight and I was underweight. Sai’s a big dude who is 25 pounds heavier than me that night.”

Ranillo’s next assignment is to beat a guy who will make his PXC debut, Mark Billena. He said that he is confident going to this fight and he is looking forward to getting his hands raised at the end of the fight.

“I personally don’t know him, but I watched some of his fight videos and he did very well. I am working hard on my wrestling and boxing. But I’m confident in my jiu jitsu. I competed in ADCC, got silver in advanced absolute division. But I’m not going to be over confident of course, I will be cautious and fight smart. PXC can expect a great fight between me and Billena. I will give my best.”

When asked on what is his message to his next foe, “Be sure to watch out for my punches and be careful when you shoot a take down on me. Good luck!”

“I want to thank Team Insider Boxing Gym Makati, especially to the owner who always there to help me, Sir Jonathan Torp. I also want to thanks Sir Christer and to my boxing coach John Baylon, who taught me everything I know in this sport. Thanks to Howzat Sports Bar Makati for sponsoring my food during my camp.”

Catch Gen Ranillo at PXC 35 on Saturday, February 16, 2013, at the Ynares Sports Arena, Pasig City, Philippines.

Visit PXC.COM.PH for the latest updates!

Leave a Reply

