Honorio Banario and Eric Kelly, Post One FC 7: More than just a trivial chat

Feature Story. Sev BJr a.k.a. Zilvidu, chief photographer  for mmaorient.net talked to Honorio Banario and Eric Kelly, what both fighters had to say after One FC Return of Warriors.

The One FC 7 Return of Warriors is just about five days ago from today, and OneFC 8 Kings and Champions more or less 58 days away; I don’t think it’s too late to still talk about the past. Read to the end  of this and you might even get a glimpse into the future.

I had the opportunity to have a post-fight chat with both fighters about their thoughts on what transpired inside the One FC cage last February 2 and some other nontrivial information. As reported first by mmamania.com, Eric Kelly was very determined to go into the fight even with a leg injury that he sustained during training, one week before the fight. Eric said that he felt the pain on his right-shin injury as early as the first round when it got into contact during striking exchanges with Honorio.

IMG_7802

“I felt pain in my right shin, but of course I didn’t want to make it obvious to Honorio.” –Eric Kelly

Eric also said that his right eye’s CT scan after his previous fight, showed a broken facial bone as it was shut close in his Dec 2012 URCC fight against Brad Terrey. He ignored the doctor’s advise and wanted to take the fight with Honorio. He was cleared to fight at OneFC 7 because his vision has healed just 10 days after his fight at URCC Dekada.
“When Honorio hit my right eye, my vision in both eyes turned black for about 20 seconds. I couldn’t see anything.”  Eric said, as I asked what happened in the 4th round when the fight ended.

Eric mentioned though, that he’s not taking anything away from Honorio and he’s not making any excuses. He says congratulations to the Champ and he knows that “Honorio did his best and deserves to be the ONEFC champion.”

Eric Kelly's first loss in his career came via TKO against countryman Honorio Banario

Eric Kelly’s first loss in his career came via TKO against countryman Honorio Banario

He said that a lesson learned from this first loss of his career is that he will make sure that he is 100% ready before stepping into the cage again. His Boss at Muayfit gym, owner Paul Teo concurs, “Health always comes first before the fight. Eric is human, not machine. He shouldn’t take any more fights until he’s 100% fit again. We all love Eric Kelly and we don’t want to see anything bad happen to him.”

IMG_7723

Honorio Banario in a ground-and-pound action after taking down Eric Kelly.

Initial post-fight comments and reports earlier said that Eric seemed to have been poked in the eye, I asked Honorio about what happened towards the end and he said “He (Kelly) leaned toward my punch, and I caught him, so it wasn’t a poke. It was a punch that landed and caused a cut under his right eye and dazed him.”

Honorio appeared to be strong at fight night, despite his rapid dehydration during the weigh-ins, the day before the fight. He struggled to meet the Featherweight limit and had to sit in the sauna in order to make weight, which he did. “I will see to it that I watch my weight-reduction next time and put my diet in-check.”

The champion said he wasn’t worried about dehydrating because Team Lakay’s entourage had a nurse who can rehydrate him through Intravenous (IV) fluids. “I didn’t want to waste all our efforts (in training) and I didn’t want to disappoint the fans so I really pushed myself to make weight.”

IMG_7730

Honorio Banario and Coach Mark Sangiao

Honorio appeared to be strong at fight night, despite his rapid dehydration during the weigh-ins, the day before the fight. He struggled to meet the Featherweight limit and had to sit in the sauna in order to make weight, which he did. “I will see to it that I watch my weight-reduction next time and put my diet in-check.”

The champion said he wasn’t worried about dehydrating because Team Lakay’s entourage had a nurse who can rehydrate him through Intravenous (IV) fluids. “I didn’t want to waste all our efforts (in training) and I didn’t want to disappoint the fans so I really pushed myself to make weight.”

Finally, I pointed out to Honorio that in the OneFC 7 fight card, the other Featherweight matches also ended with remarkable results. I asked him questions which I believe will be asked from him sooner or later anyway,
“IF it were up to you, who do you think should be the first challenger to your belt?”
Of which he replied, as I expected, a confident and politically correct answer
“I will take on all comers, I’m always ready.”
and then I couldn’t resist the urge and asked,
“Your only loss came from  Bae Young Kwon, would you think he deserves to be the first challenger to your belt?”. As a true warrior that he is, he didn’t hesitate to say
“Yes, because I also want to have a rematch with him (Bae Young Kwon)”.  So there you have it Fight boss, the Champ says he wants it too!

I congratulated The Champion, and thanked him for his time. We ended the conversation with Honorio saying “I just want to say thank you to everyone for the support you’ve given me. Thank you to my family, friends, Team Lakay, and to my great coach Mark Sangiao. I will have a rest for two-weeks, go for light training and get back to the gym soon!”

“Thank you for this interview manong.”

IMG_7834

The Inaugural One Fighting Championship Featherweight Champion, Honorio “The Rock” Banario

 

Follow @Sev_BJr on Twitter

One thought on “Honorio Banario and Eric Kelly, Post One FC 7: More than just a trivial chat

  1. Pingback: Eric “The Natural” Kelly was injured going into his fight against Honorio Banario | The Fight Nation

Leave a Reply

