Joe “The Juggernaut” Taimanglo: “I feel I have no threat for my belt against anyone including Mark Striegl.”

baby joe

Entering into the fight game one thing is for certain: success is never guaranteed or given out, however it is to be earned through one’s commitment to striving to be the best at what they do.

You are not looking into the UFC middleweight contender, Mark Munoz; you are looking at Joe “The Juggernaut” Taimanglo, the current PXC featherweight champion. He is widely considered as one of the best featherweight fighters outside UFC and Bellator. His hard work and dedication has really brought him into the pinnacle of his career.

Guam native Joe “The Juggernaut” Taimanglo (17-4-1) is one fighter that fully understands the daily grind to ascend to the top. This mass abundance of dedication and commitment has rewarded him with major success.

Don’t be fooled by his appearance because this 5 foot 5, 145 lbs. fighter has the ability to knock (which he already showed us many times) and submit bigger guys.

joe taimanglo

Taimanglo is a small featherweight but he is arguably the strongest, most explosive and exciting fighter in his weight class. He brings energy and action every time he is inside the cage.

MMA Orient: Tell us a bit about yourself

Taimanglo:

Hafa Adei my name is Joe Taimanglo I am from the Island of Guam. I love my family and God. I am a radio personality (DJ) on Guam’s favorite radio station i94, brown belt under “Charuto” (Nova Uniao) 2011. If I wasn’t an MMA fighter I’ll be playing football in the NFL! (Laugh)

MMA Orient: How did you got into the sport:

Taimanglo:

I got into the sport in 2004. Ryan Bigler introduced me to Jesse Taitano at Ground Fu, in Yona, from there I got my butt handed to me in training but I never gave up during training. I knew it will take some time and work to move up into the sport. From then on I just got hooked on how fun the sport was; because it was something that always crossed my mind that caught my interest.

MMA Orient: What’s your favorite strike/submission to use in any fight?

Taimanglo: 

My  favorite strike would be my “Juggernaut Punch”. My favorite submission will be any head and arm choke, anyone who gives me the oppurtunity for their head I’ll be sure to grab that head and within seconds you’ll be able to witness someone going to sleep.

MMA Orient: Who is your biggest inspiration?

Taimanglo:

GOD, My family and my girlfriend/bestfriend Michele .

MMA Orient: Do you like to stand with your opponent or take them to the ground?

Taimanglo:

Like the Rock said, “It Doesn’t matter”; I will stand and trade with my opponent or take him down. I’m down for whatever opens up or works for me during the fight.

MMA Orient: What does it mean to you to be a fighter?

Taimanglo:

I am honored to be in this position in this point in my life. I am blessed to do and perform the things I do today through my family and God.

MMA Orient: What separates you from every other fighter in your division?\

Taimanglo:

(Laugh) What separates me is that I am the champion and it’s gonna stay that way!

MMA Orient: You’ve been fighting in PXC for 8 years now. Tell us your thoughts on fighting under the PXC banner.

Taimanglo:

I am proud to be with this organization for 8 years. It has opened the door for my success to perform to the best of my abilities. It changed my life and kept me out of trouble for the most part. (Laugh) Overall I am happy to be part of the PXC family because in reality they are my family.

MMA Orient: You’ve probably faced and defeated some of the best featherweights in the region; do you have any plans on dropping to bantamweight division in the near future?

Taimanglo:

Fighting in the bantamweight division? Of course I’ll love to fight in this division. I trained with and survived the #1 fighter in the world Dominick Cruz, I also feel that it’s more comfortable for me to fight in the weight class anyways. I have competed in the bantamweight class about 4 times and I’ll be glad to go back so I can get me another belt.

MMA Orient: Give us your thoughts about rising prospect Mark “Mugen” Striegl. Many believed that Striegl is a serious threat to your title. He recently submitted Harris Sarmiento, a very durable fighter which you also defeated a year ago.

Taimanglo:

Mark Striegl is a great fighter and seeing him submit Harris is a good accomplishment for him. I respect all the fighters in the world. But the truth is I am just getting started! I feel I have no threat for my belt against anyone including Mark. I am determine to work hard and smash anyone that is put in front of me to play with. If Mark or anyone is in the #1 contender slot for my belt then let’s get it on because this Chamorro is going to represent all the way!

MMA Orient: What’s the status of your injury?

Taimanglo:

My hand healed but I’m down to break it again on my next opponents face.

MMA Orient: Any tentative date of your comeback?

Taimanglo:

I’ll be seeing action in early 2013. I cannot wait!

MMA Orient: What do you think of Steven Seagal, who would win between him and Randy Couture?

Taimanglo: 

Randy would smash Steven Seagal but if they were to fight in a movie of course Steven will win that battle. (Laugh)

MMA Orient: Any people/sponsors you wanna thank?

Taimanglo:

I would like to thank Docomo Pacific, SoKel Industries,  Active life chiropractic, Club Xcape, Camachilie treee store, Elegant Reflections, Guard Ya Grill, DJ Quen, I94 and KUAM, PXC, Spike22/GroundFu, Alliance MMA, American Top Team, my GF Michele, My Family and God!

Leave a Reply

