Eric Kelly: “I am always ready to fight,I would fight every week if I could.”

Eric Kelly is Baguio born and bred and the URCC Featherweight champion but he has been based in Kuala Lumpur for the last eight months. This weekend the moment he has been waiting for ever since he moved there will arrive when he gets to fight in front of Malaysian fans in Asia’s most prestigious mixed martial arts event.

ONE Fighting Championship is coming to town and putting on a card at the Stadium Negara which is stacked with some of the best fighters in the world like Renato Sobral, Roger Huerta and Masakuzu Imanari.

On June 23rd Kelly will be joining them on a star studded card when he takes on top Korean fighter Bae Young Kwon. It will be the biggest challenge of his career and there has been some serious friction between the two with Kwon making some disparaging remarks about Filipino fighters.

Kelly, who is from Baguio in the Philippines, was far from impressed and is planning on teaching the Korean a lesson when they collide in Kuala Lumpur,

“He said some things he maybe should not have said and I am proud to be a Filipino so I was not happy to hear about that. I think he helped me because I always train hard but after I read about that I train even harder and after we fight maybe he will regret it!”

Kwon is coming off a quickfire submission win over URCC Lightweight Champion Honorio Banario at ONE FC ‘Battle of Heroes’ in Jakarta and also holds recent wins over two top Koreans  in Kyung Ho Kang, who recently became the first ever Road FC bantamweight champion, and Brian Choi.

He will be the most experienced opponent Kelly has ever faced and the Filipino, who has not fought since September, will need to shake off any ring rust quickly. He says he is not concerned and is just excited to be getting back in the cage,

“I have been training all the time, I never stop training with the team at Muayfit and all my training partners like Allamurad Karayev, Peter Davis and Arnaud Lepont who are all ONE FC fighters. I am always ready to fight, I have been ready to fight again since after my last fight finished, I would fight every week if I could.”

The entire show will be streamed live on the internet at a cost of $10 USD and Kelly hopes that his Filipino fans will tune in,

“I am hoping that a lot of people in the Philippines will watch me fight. Last time when I fought Mitch Chilson many people saw it and I got a lot of messages afterwards and I was happy so I hope I can win again with lots of Filipino people watching and cheering for me. Knowing that people at home are watching my fights makes me fight even harder.”

MMA fans from around the world can witness the action of ONE Fighting Championship™: Destiny of Warriors online via live streaming on www.onefc.com. The first four under card fights are available for viewing free of charge. The remaining six main card fights are now available for purchase on Pay-Per-View at just US$9.99. Catch real time excitement of Asia’s largest mixed martial arts (MMA) event as it all goes down on 23 June 2012 at the historic Stadium Negara in the heart of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Follow me on Twitter: @zikeyorient

Leave a Reply

