MMAOrient’s exclusive interview with UFC Featherweight fighter, Chan Sung “The Korean Zombie” Jung

The Ultimate Fighting Championship will return to the Patriot Center in Fairfax, Va. for a second time on Tuesday, May 15, with UFC on Fuel TV 3, headlined with a featherweight match-up between top 10 ranked Dustin Poirier (12-1) and “The Korean Zombie” Chan Sung Jung (12-3). The event will broadcast LIVE on Fuel TV at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

The 23-year-old Poirier is riding a five-fight win streak, including a submission of the night (mounted triangle armbar) win over Max Holloway at UFC 143 last month. Jung, 24, is coming off a seven second knockout of the night win over Mark Hominick at UFC 140 in December. Just prior to that he scored a submission of the year and night (Twister) win over Leonard Garcia at UFC Fight Night 24 in March 2011.

The winner of Poirier-Jung is expected to face UFC featherweight champion Jose Aldo for the title according to UFC officials.

We had the chance to interview one of the most dangerous featherweights in the world today, Chan Sung “The Korean Zombie” Jung.

Imagine if a zombie apocalypse happened today, and the world was filled with zombies like Chan Sung Jung. The world as we know it would be over in a matter of days.

In his recent UFC win, “The Korean Zombie” didn’t need days, or even minutes for his destruction of top contender Mark Hominick (20-10, 1-2 UFC) at UFC 140 last December 10, 2011. In fact he needed just seven seconds.

Hominick had the hometown crowd fully behind him, but an overly aggressive start cost him dearly. As he fired off a looping lead left hook, Jung took a single step back and countered, uncorking a straight right hand that dropped Hominick where he stood.

Jung followed up with five more big punches from the top before the fight could be stopped, giving him a record-tying time for his performance at just seven seconds of the opening round.

“Just because I got knocked out one time doesn’t mean I’m [not] a great striker,” Jung said. “I think I’m one of the best strikers in the world.”

With the win, Jung keeps his record perfect in the UFC at 2-0, and moves to 12-3 overall.

Now Jung is up for another chellenge as he will face a very dangerous and versatile fighter, Dustin “The Diamond” Poirier in a highly anticipated UFC on Fuel TV 3.

Here is our exclusive interview with “The Korean Zombie” Chan Sung Jung:

MMAOrient: Of course, I have to ask the obvious question first–how did you get the unique nickname “The Korean Zombie”?

The Korean Zombie:

My teammates at Korean Top Team started calling me “Zombie”, because in sparring I would keep coming forward, no matter what. When I started fighting in Japan, they tacked on the “Korean” part and the nickname has stuck.

MMAOrient: How, and more importantly, why did you get started in combat sports?

The Korean Zombie:

I learned hapkido when I was young, but I first got serious when I started kickboxing in high school. I was kind of a weak kid, so I wanted to get stronger and build up my confidence and I did it through kickboxing. I got into MMA when I went to college.

MMAOrient: Who has had the biggest influence on you in your career?

The Korean Zombie:

There have been a lot of people, but Bu Kyung Jung (silver medalist in judo at the 2000 Summer Olympics) has been one of my role models.

MMAOrient: Do you follow any other sports outside of combat sports?

The Korean Zombie:

Not really. MMA is pretty much my life.

MMAOrient: Your rise in the sport has been dramatic. With a 12-3 record in your professional mma career, you are training with a world class team. Tell us what it means to you to be competing with the biggest mma promotion in the world, the UFC.

The Korean Zombie:

It’s great. The UFC is the biggest MMA promotion in the world. If you want to be the best, you have to fight the best and the UFC is the place to do it.

MMAOrient:  How has life changed after your first UFC win?

The Korean Zombie:
It hasn’t really changed my everyday life that much, but I’ve gotten a lot of exposure by winning my first UFC fight with “The Twister”, which was the first time it was done in the UFC.

MMAOrient: Now you are preparing for the biggest fight of your career at UFC on Fuel TV 3 in Virginia on May 15, 2012. How has training been going and give us your thoughts on fighting in the main event?

The Korean Zombie:

Training went well, but it’s always tough, because you have to deal with injuries and whatnot. Being the main event is great… Not just for me, but for Korean MMA. The fight has been getting a lot of attention in Korea.

MMAOrient: Give us your thoughts on fighting in Virginia and what are you expecting from the crowd?

The Korean Zombie:

I’m excited about it. There’s a pretty big Korean population in the northern Virginia/Washington DC area and we’ve gotten a lot of support from Korean American community.

Thankfully, the crowds have been really supportive since I started fighting in the US, so I’m expecting the same this time around.

MMAOrient: You’ll be facing Dustin Poirier. Tell us what you know about him and how do you expect this fight to go down?

The Korean Zombie:

He’s very tough and has a really well-rounded game. I think it’s going to be an exciting fight!

MMAOrient: What holes do you see in Poirier’s game?

The Korean Zombie:
There are no real holes in his game. He’s good in all areas, but I guess that’s also his downside. He doesn’t really excel in any one area.

MMAOrient: Do you consider this fight as one your toughest fights to date?

The Korean Zombie:

I’m definitely expected to be my toughest fight yet. With each win, I want to keep moving up the ladder and fighting better guys each time.

MMAOrient: Without giving your entire gameplan away, how would you win this fight ideally?

The Korean Zombie:

Ideally? I always prefer to keep things standing, so I’d say a KO victory.

MMAOrient: If you weren’t a pro fighter, what do you think you’ll be doing for a living?

The Korean Zombie:

I’d probably be unemployed!

MMAOrient: We all know that all fighters have a busy schedule but for sure there are things you love outside the gym and cage. What does Chan Sung Jung do in his free time?

The Korean Zombie:

MMA is my life. I don’t really have any hobbies or anything like that. When I’m not training, I’m resting, or spending time with my girlfriend.

MMAOrient: What’s your favorite Submission/Strike to use in any fight?

The Korean Zombie:

My favorite technique is “The Twister”.

MMAOrient: Who is your biggest inspiration?

The Korean Zombie:

My parents.

MMAOrient: Since you’ve entered the sport, what’s been your proudest accomplishment so far? What about your biggest challenge?

The Korean Zombie:

I’m proud of all my accomplishments, but probably the first “Twister” in UFC history, or maybe being tied for fastest KO in UFC history.
So far, my biggest challenge was my fight against Mark Hominick. This upcoming fight will probably be the biggest challenge, though.

Chan Sung Jung performed a “Twister” during his 2nd fight against Leonard Garcia at UFC Fight Night 24

MMAOrient: What type of advice would you tell young aspiring MMA fighters about the fight game?

The Korean Zombie:
It’s tough. It takes a lot of time and hard work. When you see the UFC it may look glamorous or exciting, but there’s a lot of effort and pain that goes into getting to that point.

MMAOrient: Any people/sponsors you would like to thank?

The Korean Zombie:

I would like to thank all the fans and all my sponsors… Specifically my sponsors SSEDA, Monster Zym and Traumma Combat.

Get the latest “Korean Zombie” shirt here!

Follow Chan Sung Jung on Twitter: @koreanzombiemma

Follow me on Twitter: @zikeyorient

Leave a Reply

