MMAOrient Interviews PXC Flyweight Champion, Ale “The Young Gun” Cali

One Mindanao Management Fighter, Ale “The Young Gun” Cali

Ale Cali made history last February 18, 2012 as the first Filipino homegrown champion of Pacific Xtreme Combat when he defeated a much experience fighter, Jessie Taitano via TKO on the third round of the five-round championship match fought at the PXC flyweight limit of 125 pounds.

The Davao native managed to surpass everyone’s expectations and he ended up winning the vacant PXC flyweight belt. He utilized his superb footwork, insane boxing and improved grappling to fend off some submission attempts of Jessie Taitano. Cali then mixed it up on the feet with Taitano in the third round and ended up putting him away with a couple hook straights, followed by some vicious haymakers that forced the referee to step in and stop the fight.

MMAOrient: What made you want to get into the sport of fighting?

Cali:

I Started out in boxing because it was really my hobby at first. Since boxing scene died down in Davao, I was forced to get into MMA. It’s the only thing I know to make ends meet.

MMAOrient: Who has had the biggest influence on you in your career?

Cali:

My biggest influence is Roy Jones. I really like his style and he is very talented in the ring.

MMAOrient: Do you follow any other sports outside of combat sports?

Cali:

I like joining in fun runs. It’s quite big in our city. There’s like 2 or 3 events in a month. 

MMAOrient: You are the newest PXC flyweight champion. Tell us your thoughts about your latest victory over a very tough veteran in Jessie Taitano.

Cali:

The feeling is really great. I never expected to win. I have my older brother always in my mind. The thoughts of him really pushed me to work hard and win the championship.

MMAOrient:  If you have the power to pick your next opponent, who would you like to fight next?

Cali:

Dominic Cruz and Demetrios Johnson if given the chance. The thing is, Cruz belongs to a different weight class and Johnson is in the UFC.

MMAOrient: You dedicated your last win to your brother who is in jail right now. Have you spoke with him after you won the belt, if so, what did he told you about it?

Cali:

I visited him right away soon as we got home. I told him that my promise to him was now fulfilled. I told him I will win and so I did. He was very happy. Unfortunately, he did not get to see my belt up close because the jail management is so strict and did not allow me to bring it inside the jail.

MMAOrient: How long a break would you take between fights before getting back to your training?

Cali:

My manager, Otek Durante gave me a week off after I won. Then it’s back to training right away. 3 times a week of gym time is actually a vacation for us in our team. But if we have a scheduled fight, we train 5-6 days a week. Day, noon and night. 2 months before the fight.

MMAOrient: Do you have any tips for our readers on how to maximize their training?

Cali:

Tips? Eat a lot. Sleep some more but train like there’s no tomorrow (laughs). Get a good program going. Basically, just follow what your coach or trainers tell you.

MMAOrient: What advice would you have for someone who wants to get into competitive MMA?

Cali:

Work hard. Train hard. Always be humble and never let your guard down. Fight only when your trainers tell you when you’re absolutely ready. Did I mention get more sleep? (laughs)

MMAOrient: What kind of diet are you on when training for a fight?

Cali:

What diet? That’s ‘”DIE” with a “T”. (laughs)

MMAOrient: When is your next fight?

Cali:

No schedule yet. My manager is working on it. Will let you know soon as we have one.

MMAOrient: Is there anything that you would like to say in closing?

Cali:

Would like to thank all my followers and supporters. My sponsors. Engage Hybrid Athletics and Beefit gym. Also would like to thank my team mates who’s beats the living crap out of me every training day. My co-manager Hazel Ogalesco and my manager Otek Durante. My coach, Bambi Posadas, trainer Angelito ‘The Saint’ Manguray, thank you very much. To the PXC, you guys are awesome. To all those who cheered and prayed for me in my last fight, you’re all amazing. Keep them coming please. To jesse taitano, thank you for being a true sportsman. And to you Mr. Zike, of course, for your undying support, love and devotion. God bless you all.

Check him out on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/BRASHARYCALI

One Mindanao MMA Management on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/OneMindanaoMMA

Follow me on Twitter: @zikeyorient

Check out PXC.COM.PH for more information.

Leave a Reply

