First Blood: An MMAOrient interview with Vaughn “Blud” Anderson

Vaughn “Blud” Anderson (born July 21, 1978) is a Canadian mixed martial artist and kickboxer, with professional mma record of 15-1-1. Hailing from Ottawa, Ontario, Anderson has spent the entirety of his professional career fighting in Asia, particularly China, where he has fought for the country’s most prolific MMA organization, the Art of War Fighting Championship, five times, amassing a 3-1-1 record in the promotion.

He is the recent PRO Fighting Heavyweight Grand Prix champion by stopping all of his three heavier opponents in just one night, and all of them was in the very first round (not bad for a middleweight fighter).

Vaughn fighting a heavier dude at Pro Fighting

Anderson was born in Manila, Philippines where he lived for five years before he moved to Beijing, China and eventually Canada.

He began compete professionally in martial arts when he moved to Taiwan in 2002. Anderson began studying Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and mixed martial arts under Warren Wang in Taizhong, Taiwan. Under Wang, Anderson built a strong reputation competing in regional BJJ and MMA events. He then moved to Taiwan’s capital of Taipei to train alongside Andy Wang at Taiwan BJJ. There, he studied Muay Thai under Master David Sinclair, as well as Judo and boxing.

In 2007, Anderson was invited to China’s Art of War Fighting Championship to face undefeated Chinese fighter, Ao Hai Lin, at Art of War 8: Worlds Collide. Anderson would go on to become a staple of the organization and crowd favorite, thanks to his proficiency in spoken Mandarin and fighting ability.

The picture speaks for itself.

After receiving his purple belt in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu in 2008, Anderson moved to Bangkok,Thailand to train Muay Thai full-time. Later that year, he was contacted by the world’s biggest kickboxing promotion, Japan’s K-1, and asked to participate in their annual Asian Heavyweight Grand Prix, to be held in his old stomping grounds of Taiwan. Despite being a natural middleweight, Anderson accepted.

In his first fight, he KO’d Jun Ito of Japan at just 1:56 of the first round. In the semifinals, Anderson was not just up against a 30 lb weight difference but world-renowned Russian Aleksandr Pitchkounov. Anderson would go on to take third in the tournament behind Pichkunov and winner Ruslan Karaev.

Vaughn is undefeated since 2007 winning nine of his ten fights via stoppages.

Vaughn also, is one of the commentators of Legend Fighting Championship.

His next fight will be against Team M.A.D’s “Hungry” Yang Hae Jun at Days of Glory 2 scheduled on May 5th, 2012 in Australia.

I really wanted this fight to happen because I know both fighters’ style and attitude inside the ring and it will surely create a once-in-a-lifetime mma fight.

Hungry Yang is a fighter that every time he steps inside the ring, he makes sure that he will impress you. In other words, Yang is a fighter who want to show the fans that he is an evolving and exciting fighter.

Yang is coming off a KO victory over Japanese prospect, Hideto Tatsumi in Legend FC 7, last February 11, 2012.

In my opinion, Yang is a perfect opponent for Vaughn Anderson. I really love Anderson’s style of fighting. He is one of those fighters who love to pick their opponents apart in a very methodical but exciting way. I personally can’t wait for this fight to happen.

So here’s our interview with Vaughn “Blud” Anderson

MMAOrient: What is your martial arts background?

Vaughn:

I started with BJJ, but messed around with TMA as a kid- but couldn’t fight scientifically til I began BJJ, then boxing, Muay Thai and sanda.

MMAOrient: Why did you start training MMA?

Vaughn:

Totally random, a friend introduced me to BJJ then pushed me into my first MMA fight. I owe that guy a lot, he totally redirected my life.
MMAOrient: Why did you choose MMA over other sports?

Vaughn:

After my first fight I just loved it. I guess it because you get to fight people! In other sports what is forbidden is glorified in MMA.

MMAOrient: When was your first fight and what was it like getting into the ring for the first time?

Vaughn:

I was scared. Actually, I still get scared- but I like the fear- like a roller coaster- you scream in terror and then when it ends you want to do it again.

MMAOrient: Can you tell us the history behind your moniker, “Blud”?

Vaughn:

I drink snake blood before I fight if I can get it. I also beat up this fat sumo guy in an open-weight GP way back when and he was coughing blood and bleeding all over the mat. He got taken out of the ring on a stretcher. After that fight, the guys at Taiwan BJJ just starting calling me ‘Blud’.

MMAOrient: What fights have stood out for you so far and why?

Vaughn:

Art Of War 14 versus Kim Dong Hyun. It ended in a draw, but I was in great shape. That was the best performance I think I’ve had and still couldn’t finish him. Not sure why nobody has arranged the re-match.

MMAOrient: What would a typical fight training day look like for you?

Vaughn:

I wake up early and do the same training as the other guys- sprints, bag work, sparring, weight. I am always doing my own weird thing too- like throwing dumbbells across a field.

MMAOrient: How do you mentally prepare for a fight?

Vaughn:

Spend tons of time on this. As soon as I know who I am fighting, I put his photo as a wallpaper on my computer. Then put a curse on him, and knock out a mini voodoo doll of him. Actually, I have these pre-fight mental CD’s I listen too- I think this is one thing I have over the competition.

MMAOrient: What is your strategy when fighting an aggressive fighter?

Vaughn:

Nothing, this is the guy I am trained to defeat. If he is pulling that Korean ‘bait-you’ style it’s much more complicated.

MMAOrient: How important is shadow boxing and stretching in your training?

Vaughn:

Shadow is a huge part of my mental preparations, and stretching is something I sort of need to force myself to do.

MMAOrient: What is your ultimate goal in your fighting career?

Vaughn:

My goal is to never leave the game. I guess I will have to retire some day, but I hope to always train, and coach or be a part of it in someway. 

MMAOrient: If you were not a pro fighter, what do you think you will be doing for a living?

Vaughn:

It’s a scary thought. What would I do? For me anything else is a step down. It will be a very sad day when I retire.

MMAOrient: What is your favorite submission/strike to use in any fight?

Vaughn:

Well, I love the overhand, I like choking people out too. Anything that looks like you’ve just killed someone. (laughs)

MMAOrient: Who is your biggest inspiration?

Vaughn:

There is a group of old Judo guys in Taipei. They dump each other on their heads every Sunday and teach whoever wants to learn from them. I hope to be a part of something just like that when I am a grandpa too.

MMAOrient: You are scheduled to fight “Hungry” Yang Hae Jun on May 5th in Australia. What are your thoughts on your next foe?

Vaughn:

Hungry is not a foe, he’s a cool guy and a tough opponent. He changes every fight. I know Team M.A.D. will be prepping a very advance strategy for this fight. I will do my best to ruin his plans.

MMAOrient: Can you tell us something about your preparations going to this fight against Hungry Yang?

Vaughn:

Hungry and his coaches will be preparing to beat the Vaughn from last December .I know they will be working on a strategy designed to match my game. In response, I will do all I can to fight different to what they are expecting.

MMAOrient: What flaws do you see in Yang’s game?

Vaughn:

Experience. He’s only had 8 fights- only 2 at this weight. He is a team M.A.D guy, they have similarities and share some of the same weaknesses. Let’s see if I can find them in our fight.

MMAOrient: What do you think will be your biggest advantage over Yang?

Vaughn:

I believe I want it more than he does. He is a careful fighter, and not as aggressive.

MMAOrient: You are included in the top 10 Canadian Middleweights of some MMA sites. In my own perspective, you are one of the best middleweights outside the UFC right now. You are undefeated since 2007 and all of them were stoppages. Do tell us the reason why behind your very impressive mma record.

Vaughn:

Lots of people make a big deal about my record. The truth though is that I have fought, MMA, K-1, sanda, Muay Thai, BJJ, Judo, and submission wrestling and I have lost at least once in all of those. I have my coaches and teammates to thank for the fights I have won.

MMAOrient: Any advice to those young people who want to get into the sport or step into the cage?

Vaughn:

Fighting is raw, it takes balls. Jump into it. Don’t wait til you are sure you will win to take a fight. I can’t stand hearing guys talk like that. And, when it hurts, remember the people that got you there before you quit.

Click here to add Vaughn Anderson on Facebook.

Days of Glory MMA’s official site: http://www.dogmma.com/

Follow me on Twitter: @zikey09

One thought on “First Blood: An MMAOrient interview with Vaughn “Blud” Anderson

Leave a Reply

