PXC 29: Ale “The Young Gun” Cali Ready To Be PXC champion

Ale Cali. Photo by: Oliver Embradora

Ale Cali’s first fight in PXC was unforgettable. He paced himself very well and knocked out his much experienced opponent, Josh Alvarez in the very first round. Many fight fans saw Cali’s potential to become the first homegrown Filipino champion in PXC.

Cali’s second fight was against an undefeated fighter, Dylan Pablo in PXC 28. He dominated Pablo through three rounds to earn a unanimous decision win last November.

After dismantling his previous two opponents using his superb boxing techniques and take down defense, The 21-year old Davao native is now gunning to be the newest PXC flyweight king by taking on another veteran fighter in Jessie “The Spiderman” Taitano in PXC 29 scheduled on February 18.

MMAOrient: Can you tell us a bit about your martial arts background?

Cali:

I started boxing at the age of 5, started my amateur fights at 15, then I turned pro at the age of 17. But boxing’s not popular here in Davao anymore that’s why I transitioned to MMA.

MMAOrient: Why did you chose MMA over other sports?

Cali:

I chose Mixed Martial Arts because it’s the fastest growing sports in the world right now. You can’t find big money in boxing if you don’t have any politician or powerful person behind you, that’s why I made a decision to leave boxing.

MMAOrient: You’re coming off to an impressive win over Dylan Pablo in PXC 28. Tell us a bit about that win.

Cali:

Nothing really was special in my preparation against Pablo. I trained Jiu-Jitsu, Muay Thai, Boxing and Karate everyday. When it comes to my diet, I have no problem getting my desired weight because I’m making weight easily.

MMAOrient: What are those skills that you are working on right now to improve your overall game?

Cali:

I still wants to improve my knockout power and my jiu jitsu skills.

MMAOrient: Your nickname inside the ring is “The Young Gun”, what’s the story behind it?

Cali:

My nickname before was “The Young” because I started fighting at the very young age. Then my teammates changed it into “The Young Gun” because they said I got speed in my punches and some people also told me that my punches is like a gun because of its speed and power.

MMAOrient: Who is your biggest inspiration?

Cali:

My biggest inspiration is my older brother. He’s in penitentiary right now that’s why I’m doing the best I can to help him, that’s why he’s one of the reason why I’m an MMA fighter right now.

MMAOrient: What’s your favorite strike/submission to use in any fight?

Cali:

My favorites are straight right and kimura.

MMAOrient: You’re next opponent is Jessie Taitano, an experienced mma fighter. Give us your thoughts on your next foe.

Cali:

He is for sure the most experienced opponent for me to date that’s why I’m really training hard for him. Jessie also has a good cardio because most of his fights in Shooto have gone the distance. I’m really focused right now in training, I sparred three different guys everyday for this one. I also don’t have any problems in my striking game because it’s obviously my skill, but don’t ever underestimate my ground game.

MMAOrient: If you could have one dream fight with anyone, who would it be?

Cali: I’d like to fight Dominick Cruz someday because he’s very skilled fighter.

MMAOrient: Do you have any people/sponsors you would like to give thanks?

Cali:

I would like to thank MMAOrient for this interview, my teammates; Coach Bambi Posadas, Dr. Angelito Manguray, My Manager, Mr. Otek Durante, co-Manager, Hazel Ogalesco, My Mother and most especially Allah for giving me this talent.

PXC 29 TV Commercial:

Visit http://pxc.com.ph/ to view PXC 29 full fight card.

Follow me on Twitter: @zikey09

Leave a Reply

