Geje “Gravity” Eustaquio is ready to make his ONE FC debut against Alex Silva

Geje “Gravity” Eustaquio is an exciting fighter from the famed Team Lakay gym in Baguio City. Taking up his master’s degree at the University of the Cordilleras, this intelligent fighter is very methodical in executing his game plan. He does not rush in or make superfluous moves. He is in every sense of the word a tactician.

Eustaquio showed an impressive performance on hisdebut against Rogelio Plomeda last August 20, 2011. He dismantled Plomeda in the second round by throwing heavy leg kicks that caused Plomeda to hit the canvas, forcing him to yield to give Eustaquio the TKO victory.

Eustaquio then fought against Korean Top Team’s David Cho on November 26, 2011. After three rounds of action, the judges gave a split decision victory to the Korean fighter, leaving Eustaquio and the crowd some doubt with the outcome of the fight.

“My last fight was an all striking showdown for me. Though I went for take downs, I haven’t shown the crowd my ground skills. I just followed the game plan that night,” says Eustaquio.

After that controversial loss to Cho, Eustaquio is now ready to face a new challenge in his MMA career. He will be making his One FC debut on February 11 in Jakarta, Indonesia against Evolve MMA’s Alex Silva.

We sat down with Geje to discuss his upcoming fight in the second major event of the URCC-partnered, Singapore-based MMA promotion.

MMAOrient: For MMA fans who will watch you for the first time on February 11, can you talk a bit about your martial arts background and your fighting style?

Geje: I kick, I punch, I wrestle, and I do grounds. That’s who I am.

MMAOrient: You are fighting against a very dangerous BJJ black belt, Alex Silva. Give us your thoughts on your next opponent.

Geje: Alex Silva is a great guy. It is an honor for me to fight a Brazilian warrior.

MMAOrient: Can you tell us something about your preparations going to this fight against Silva?

Geje: I am with the best MMA team in the Philippines, so expect that I’m going through the best training right now.

MMAOrient: What holes do you see in Silva’s game?

Geje: His stand-up game.

MMAOrient: How does it feel fighting under the One FC banner?

Geje: Feels like you belong with the champions. Being a part of One FC and fighting on their second event is such an honor.

MMAOrient: Your last fight was quite controversial. Some fight fans believe that you won that fight against David Cho, but unfortunately the judges didn’t give you the decision win. Can you give us your thoughts on that?

Geje: I believe that I got the first round. The second round was a little bit close, but the referee gave David Cho a one-point deduction. [Winning] Those two rounds show that I won. Nothing personal for me this time, the judges saw it that way so I give all the respect to their decision. God didn’t give me that opportunity because I believe He has a better one.

MMAOrient: What did you learn in your fight against David Cho? Did you see any holes in your game that you need to improve on?

Geje: Of course, there are things that needs to be improved. With regards to my fight against David, yes, there are some parts of my game that need to be improved. No one’s a perfect fighter.

MMAOrient: What’s your ultimate goal for your MMA career?

Geje: To be a champion.

Zike: We all know that all fighters have a busy schedule, but for sure there are things you love outside the gym. What does Geje Eustaquio do in his free time?

Geje: I love watching TV, rest at home, and visit some of my friends.

MMAOrient: Any people you want to thank?

Geje: First of all, I want to thank God and my teammates, most especially to our coach Mark Sangiao.

Geje Eustaquio will be joined by Jessie Rafols, Honorio Banario, and Ole Laursen to form the Philippine contingent to One FC 2: Battle of Heroes at Jakarta, Indonesia on February 11, 2012. Visit urccmma.com regularly for updates on fighters and events in the URCC and One FC.

Follow One FC and URCC on Twitter: @onefcmma and @urccmma

Follow me on Twitter: @zikey09

Leave a Reply

