PXC 28:”I am not worried because I go into every fight to win and with nothing to lose.” – Jon Tuck

Jon Cruz Tuck. Photo by: guamsporstnetwork.com

Jon Tuck is quickly asserting himself af one of – if not the – top MMA prospects in the region.

Always the disciplined professional both inside and outside the cage, Tuck dismantled Thomas Calvo with a solid clinch game and submitted him at PXC 17. He then went on to defeat Eduard Folayang with a seven second knockout in November.

The 155-pound fighter has also shown his excellence in jiu jitsu as he won two medals at the Shoyoroll All-island Jiu Jitsu Championships. He followed this success with gold medal placing at the 2010 Philippine BJJ International tournament where he also received an award for the most technical grappler.

Tuck’s next fight is in PXC 28 against Tristan Arenal on September 26th at Ynares Sports Arena, Pasig, Philippines.

MMAOrient: Tell us what you feel on fighting Tristan Arenal in PXC 28.

 

Jon Tuck:

This fight against Tristan is going to be a spectacular fight, especially because it is for the no. 1 contender spot.”

MMAOrient: How’s your training for this fight?

 

Jon Tuck:

“My training for this fight has been great especially because I have been covering all aspects of MMA and sharpening my skills.”

MMAOrient: What holes do you see in Arenal’s game?

 

Jon Tuck:

“Arenal is a great fighter that has not been put on his back. I will do my best to find out on fight night what holes he has in his game.”

MMAOrient: What will be the key factor for your victory against Arenal?

 

Jon Tuck:

“Pressure, Control and Heart.”

MMAOrient: It’s been 2 years since your impressive win over Team Lakay’s Eduard Folayang. What was the reason why you took some time off in mma?

 

Jon Tuck:

“I never took off from MMA. I was not able to land any fights. I kept active by dedicating more time to Jiu Jitsu by competing and exploring the world, evolving as a martial artist and as a person.”

MMAOrient: Do you feel any pressure being an undefeated fighter? Because obviously everyone wants to put that loss in your unblemished record.

 

Jon Tuck:

“Being undefeated is great and of course my future opponents will be looking to put that loss on my record. I am not worried because I go into every fight to win and with nothing to lose.”

MMAOrient: What’s your favorite strike/submission to use in any fight?

 

Jon Tuck:

“Rear Naked Choke.”

MMAOrient: Which team are you training with in preparation for your next bout?

 

Jon Tuck:

“Universal Alliance BJJ, SPK 22, Kontendas & Light’s Out Boxing.”

MMAOrient: What can we expect from you on November 26th against Arenal?

 

Jon Tuck:

“You can expect a new and improved version of myself.”

MMAOrient: Do you have any message for your fans?

 

Jon Tuck:

If I have any, I just want to say thank you for all your continued support.” 

MMAOrient:  Any people/sponsors you would like to thank?

 

Jon Tuck:

I want to thank God for all that he has given me by blessing me with a daughter on the way, my family, friends all over the world.

Docomo, LOHAS Chiropractic, Ready Fight Gear, Calvo’s Insurance, Scooter World, TM, Expression Studios, Tunu, Zuniga’s, SYR, APPA, Dunx at Black Market, LR& ER, Firestarter Bb, B. Hahn and to everyone who helped me get to where I am at today.

 

For more information about PXC 28, visit their official website.

One thought on “PXC 28:”I am not worried because I go into every fight to win and with nothing to lose.” – Jon Tuck

  1. Pingback: Asian MMA Update: Folayang Bags SEA Games Gold Medal, Chonan Trains at Evolve, Kanehara Wins US Debut — diggmma.com

Leave a Reply

