Fighter of the month: Newly signed Bellator Fighter Phillipe “Super” Nover

Phillipe "Super" Nover

Fil-Am professional MMA fighter Phillipe Nover had a roller coaster ride in the UFC, tasted a unanimous decision loss to Efrain Escudero, a “controversial” tko defeat to Kyle Bradley and another decision loss to Rob Emerson.

Phillipe Nover impressed UFC President Dana White while he was in The Ultimate Fighter. After watching the 24-year-old lightweight Phillipe Nover, White said he thinks Nover has all-around MMA skills reminiscent of UFC welterweight champion Georges St. Pierre, he also added that Phillipe Nover could be the next Anderson Silva, but things don’t go as planned for Phillipe Nover. After a 0-3 record inside the octagon, the UFC released him and decided to take some time off.

After a year of not fighting due to neck injury he sustained in 2010, Nover got back in the ring as a professional Muay Thai fighter.

With just over a minute in the first round, former  UFC Fighter knocked out his Canadian opponent Anthony Ford in the middle weight division of the “Friday Night Fights” held in an undisclosed location in Manhattan on June 10, 2011.

Phillipe Nover Mauy Thai fight video:


After an impressive Muay Thai win, Nover returned inside the cage after an 18-month layoff to meet Jake Murphy, a Greg Jackson-trained fighter, at Hoosier Fight Club 8 on August 20, 2011. He replaced the last man to defeat him, Murphy’s original opponent, Rob Emerson, who had to pull out of the fight due to injury. Nover won the fight by unanimous decision, 29-28 on all three judges’ scorecards.

After weeks of his win over Murphy, Nover was signed to fight in Bellator Fighting Championships. His debut will come at Bellator 59 against Polish submission ace, Marcin Held.

MMAOrient interviews Phillipe “Super” Nover:

MMAOrient: Tell us about your Martial Arts background.

Phillipe:

I’ve been training traditional martral arts since the age of 10. I had my first pro MMA fight in 2002. Right now I’ve been stuyding wrestling religiously at Edge wrestling in Hoboken NJ under Dave Esposito. I also train Muay Thai with Jason Strout and I train at Renzo Gracie’s in NYC.

MMAOrient: How did you got into the sport of MMA?

Phillipe:

My first experience with MMA was over 8 years ago. It wasn’t a well known sport and there was little media or knowledge about it. After a few training partners did welll in it. I decided to give it a shot and after my first win, I was hooked.

MMAOrient: Is it true that you’ve changed your nickname from “The Filipino Assassin” to “Super”?

Phillipe:

Yes. I wanted something more positive sounding. I like “super” because it sounds more universal and it sort of represents me. I feel like this giant ball of energy about to explode! That is what I want to happen in my career as well.

MMAOrient: What’s your favorite strike/submission to use in any fight?

Phillipe:

I kick people in the head. And submission wise I’ll take an arm bar!

MMAOrientWho is your biggest inspiration?

Phillipe:

Right now I look up to a few people. Fight wise I look up to Frankie Edgar. He is just another kid from the East Coast who blew up. Hes the only one to ever beat Maynard and let alone finish him.

MMAOrient: We all know that you’re already signed a contract with Bellator and your next fight is on November 26th in Atlantic City against Marcin Held. How’s your preparation for your Bellator debut?

Phillipe:

I’ve been training like a beast as usual. However training for fights now a days is a lot more scientific then anything else.

MMAOrient: What holes do you see in Held’s game?

Phillipe:

I see his standup and takedowns are not his best attributes.

MMAOrient: Which team are you training with in preparation for your next bout?

Phillipe:

Edge Wrestling, Renzo Gracie, and Church St boxing.

MMAOrient: What are your favorite Filipino foods?

Phillipe:

My favorite one of all time is Nilagang Baka. The women I marry must know how to make it or things just won’t work out.

MMAOrient: There are tons of MMA talents in the Philippines that are showcasing their skills in international scene, just to list a few: Eduard Folayang, Eric Kelly and Kevin Belingon. What can you advise to those talents who are dreaming of fighting in a bigger promotions in the US?

Phillipe:

Keep training hard and training smart. I hear the UFC is coming to the Philippines possibly in 2012. They may be looking for local fighters. Your dreams can come true!

MMAOrient: Any people you would like to thank?

Phillipe:

Thanks to all my coaches and training partners. Thank you to all my friends and family who supported me from day one in pursuing my fight dream!

 

Get the latest updates straight from Phillipe Nover’s Twitter account: http://twitter.com/#!/PhillipeNover

Facebook Account: click here

Phillipe Nover’s website: http://phillipenover.com/

2 thoughts on “Fighter of the month: Newly signed Bellator Fighter Phillipe “Super” Nover

Leave a Reply

