Mark Muñoz Exclusive Interview on MMAOrient

Photo by Foot Candles via MarkMunozmma.com

Name: Mark Munoz

Nick Name: The Filipino Wrecking Machine

Record: 11-2-0 (win-loss-draw)

Association: Reign MMA

Height: 183 cm (6`0)

Weight: 186 lbs (85kg)

Birth Date: 1978-02-09

Age: 33

City: Sacramento, California

Country: United States

 

Social Media Accounts:

Twitter: @Mark_Munoz

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/MarkMunozMMA

Website: MarkMunozMMA.com

MMAOrient:   For those people who will watch you for the first time on November 5th, can you talk a bit about your martial arts background and your fighting style?

Mark Muñoz:

I’ve wrestled since I was 13 years old. In high school, I was a two-time California State champion, High School National Champion, two-time World team member, Jr World Silver Medalist. Later recruited to the number 1 team in the national in college Oklahoma State University there I was a two-time Big 12 Conference Champion, two-time NWCA Academic All-American, two-time NCAA All-American, and ended my college career as a NCAA National Champion. I coached for Oklahoma State University for 3 years, accepted a job at UC Davis there I met Urijah Faber and he three years he tried to convince me to get into MMA, finally I decided to train in Muay Thai and Jiu Jitsu for a while. I decided to do MMA fully when Urijah brought in Randy Couture, Brandon Vera, Quinton Rampage Jackson, Frank Trigg, James Irvin, Scott Smith and some others for Randy Couture’s camp against Vitor Belfort. He asked me to go to practice.  There, I ended sparring Randy Couture and did really well. It was right then I made the decision to do MMA.

MMAOrient: Why did you choose MMA over wrestilng?

Mark Muñoz:

I chose MMA because I felt that many opportunities kept coming my way.  In the beginning I felt that MMA wasn’t my calling but the door kept opening. I met people that were involved in it and they kept telling me to do it. I was coaching and getting my masters degree at the time and felt that being a coach was what I was meant to do but then I couldn’t deny the competitive spirit I still had within me. So I decided to train for a fight. Fought for the first time and decided to do it full time when I got into the WEC. So I quit coaching and teaching to do MMA.

MMOrient: What’s the feeling of being sorrounded by some high caliber fighters who train with you and helps you out in preparation for your next fight?

Mark Muñoz:

I feel so blessed to have the team that I have. I feel that God has planted them in my gym and now we have one of the best camps in the world. Just like a plant you must water and fertilize it. You must work to make it grow. Same with our team. We are working to build the best team in the world. It feels amazing to have the team that I have.

MMAOrient: How is your training for your next fight against Chris Leben?

Mark Muñoz:

Training is going well! I’m in great shape and feel great!

MMAOrient: Are you going to knock Leben out?

Mark Muñoz:

I plan on finishing him somehow. If its with punches so be it. Kicks, great. If I submit him that’ll be awesome. I’ll take it however it comes.

MMAOrient: When is Mark Munoz coming to the Philippines?

Mark Muñoz:

The UFC is planning to send me over soon. I don’t know for sure, but I’ll be sure to announce it on my website at www.markmunozmma.com when the details are confirmed.

MMAOrient: What are your favorite Filipino cuisines?

Mark Muñoz:

I like it all! Just to list a few: Adobo, Lumpia, Mungo, Kare Kare, Diniguan, Pancit, Nilaga, Sinigang, Lechon Kawali, Pinakbet, Bistek, and many more!

MMAOrient: There are rumors that you are going to be one of the coaches in TUF Philippines. Tell us something about it.

Mark Muñoz:

Yes that is the rumor. As of right now I am not sure what will become of it yet. But I know I’m a for sure candidate.

MMAOrient: Any people you would like to thank?

Mark Muñoz:

I would like to thank my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ for all the blessings that have been placed in my life, my family (Father, mother, sister Rheena, my wife and my children) without their support none of this would be possible.
I also like to thank my training partners from Reign Training Center, my sponsors FORM Athletics, Xyience, Toyo Tires, Boneheads, and Nutri-Stop and my MMA, Inc family for all the help you provide for my family and I. Special thanks to Team Munoz, Giographix and FC Productions.  You guys are awesome.
Finally I’d like to thank the fans for your support! The fans of this sport are amazing and I’d like to sincerely thank them for supporting me for what I represent and for accepting me for who I am.Maraming salamat sa inyong supporta!  Mabuhay ang Pilipino at mga Kapamilya!

Mark stated that his fight against Chris Leben on November 5th will be the biggest fight of his career to date.

” This fight could be a big step for whoever gets a title shot.”

To find the latest news on Mark Muñoz UFC Fighter visit:  www.MarkMunozMMA.com


One thought on “Mark Muñoz Exclusive Interview on MMAOrient

  1. Pingback: “The Filipino Wrecking Machine” responds to “The Crippler’s” Failed Drug Test | MMA Orient

Leave a Reply

